Lorde Royals music video still

royals | lorde

Lorde Royals music video still

Gabriel introduced me to this video by letting me know that he had found my new favorite song, and he was…absolutely correct (it pains me to admit that his music predictions for me are always spot on). “Royals” by Lorde is like cotton candy to my ears.

The lyrics remind me of being 15, hanging around aimlessly at public bus stations and spending my last few dollars on grubby Chinese buffets. It’s a sassy song and, as Gabe put it, “an ode to middle class suburbia.

I had never heard of Lorde before now, but apparently she is a 16-year-old singer/songwriter from New Zealand who released her first EP in March of this year. She’s got a lovely indie-pop-electronic kind of sound, which I will always be able to get down to. I haven’t listened to anything else of hers extensively, to be honest, but I have a sneaking suspicion that I will love anything she puts out.

3 thoughts on “royals | lorde

  1. I love Lorde. Just discovered her too. Love Royals, Million Dollar Bills, The Love Club, and Swingin’ Party. You should check out MIA, Tristan Prettyman, the Ting Tings, or Rilo Kiley. Somewhat similar sounds; not exact – but maybe worthwhile.

    1. I have actually listened to all of those artists you mentioned! I don’t listen to Tristan Prettyman too much, but all other others are main artists on my ipod 🙂 I can’t wait for Lorde’s full-length to come out. I’ll have something new to obsess over lol

Leave a Reply

