Vegan Veggies and White Rice with Fish

vegetable sauté with fish

Fish, vegan veggies and white rice

So I’m aware that you can’t claim to be just a little bit vegan or vegetarian, in the same way you can’t have just a touch of AIDS, but…this dinner recipe does kind of fit the description. I’m currently trying to transition to a diet with less meat, and the number one tip I’ve found for transitioning meat lovers is moderation. So instead of cutting off meat altogether, I’m trying to part ways with it gently.

I made this vegetable sauté for dinner the other night, and while I would normally make about three fish fillets to go along with it (I like leftovers), I kept the golden rule of moderation in mind and stuck with just one. If you want to keep this recipe strictly vegan, just omit the fish.

sauteed vegan veggetable dinner recipe

  • red bell pepper
  • orange bell pepper
  • zucchini
  • onion
  • olive oil
  • minced garlic
  • black pepper
  • salt
  • marjoram
  • rosemary
  • lemon

Place pan on medium heat, drizzle with oil.
Add garlic. Chop onion, zucchini and bell peppers and add to pan.
Season to taste with black pepper, salt, marjoram and rosemary.
Once vegetables have softened, remove from heat and squeeze the juice of a lemon half over them.
Serve with rice (and fish, if you’d like!).

Time: 15-20 min.
Serves: 2

I don’t really cook with measurements because I think it’s way more fun and rewarding to just go with your instincts. Make it however you like and don’t be afraid of the seasonings! There’s always a way to make things taste better. For example, I ended up sprinkling a little bit of turmeric over my rice because I thought it was a bit boring. It was just the kick it needed.

Leave a Reply

