Green tea toner in a mason jar

DIY Green Tea Toner

Green tea toner in a mason jar

Welcome to Part 2 of a series on natural beauty products that you can find in your kitchen! We’re all raised to think that in order to have a clean face, we need to have the most expensive and abrasive products on the market. Not so, dear friends. Here are a few ways you can take care of your face in a healthy and loving way…

Green tea is a staple in my household. Whenever I’m sick I have at least three cups a day, but in all honesty I should probably be drinking at least as much on a daily basis. Why? Because it has got seriously magical properties. It’s full of anti-oxidants and can be used in a seemingly endless parade of ways to make your face appear brighter and younger.

The reason green tea is so magical is that it’s rich in natural anti-oxidants, which helps the skin on your face to regenerate damaged cells. So basically what I’m saying is that green tea is the fountain of youth.

With the amount of green tea-infused products on the market, I think it’s safe to say that the secret is out about this elixir of youth — but you don’t need to spend a pretty penny on it! There are a few different ways you can make use of the tea bags you already have at home, instead of going out and buying this or this or… this.

Personally, my favorite way of using green tea on my face is as a toner. Since it’s refrigerated, the cold temperature of the toner tightens my pores after washing my face with warm water. It also wipes away any excess dirt before I moisturize and leaves me looking rejuvenated.

  • 1 green tea bag
  • 1 cottonball
  • container for storage

Steep tea bag in a small amount of water (6-8 oz.).
Cool, and refrigerate for up to a few weeks.
After cleansing, apply toner to face using a cotton ball and let air dry.
Follow with favorite moisturizer.

I wouldn’t say that the results are immediate, but after using green tea as my toner for a few weeks I have begun to see a difference. The dark, brown acne spots that I’m used to seeing on my face are much less pronounced and fade away faster. I wonder what adding lemon juice to my toner would do?

EDIT: An easy way to add green tea to your diet and face care as well is to have a cup of green tea every morning as part of your routine. Save the tea bag and use while still warm to wipe the face with. Let air dry. 😉

Part 1: Cinnamon/Honey Mask
Part 3: Coconut Oil Moisturizer

Leave a Reply

