Everything Is Embarrassing | Sky Ferreira

sky ferreira everything is embarrassing still

I’m not really a fan of the “moody MySpace girl” persona. You know, with the messy hair and the stoner voice and the never quite smiling (definitely never laughing) thing? It bothered me in 2005, and it irks the shit out of me now.

“Everything Is Embarrassing” by #1 Myspace Girl Sky Ferreira is a song that has caught my obsessive attention span, however, and I’m glad I gave it a chance. It was the song’s title that got me interested, and it was the infectious beat that got me hooked. I’m no lyric analyst (Is that…a thing?) but I am a young woman who’s gone through her fair share of awkward and embarrassing heartaches.

I’ve been hating everything, everything that could have been 
Could have been my anything 
Now everything’s embarrassing

Hello?! If you’ve ever been an insecure teenage girl led on by a teenage boy who surely knows how cute he is, I don’t think I need to say anything else. Let’s just listen, let the memories flood in and commiserate together.

If it were up to me, I would categorize her music as “A Fresh Take On 80s Synth Music That Makes Me Wanna Groove In My Bedroom All Alone But Maybe With The Windows Open So Random Passersby Could See How Much Fun I’m Having”.

Alas, others call it “electro pop”.

Leave a Reply

