I Hope I Have Some Shy Babies

I'm shy

There is a special place in my heart for the kinds of children who bow their heads when asked how old they are or try to hide behind their parents when the balloon man asks which shape they want to see next. I’ve always made an extra effort to pay attention to those ones and not the loudmouth kids in the center of the room.

I probably feel such a kindred bond with shy children because I was just like them once. If I’m being completely honest with myself, that little girl who was too afraid to go up to the counter and ask for extra napkins by herself still lurks within. She even pops her awkward, mousy little head into my adult life from time to time, and this is where my fascination with self-expression comes into play.

Or am I??

I have always felt as if I were two different people at once: the shy, quiet girl who can barely get out her name and the smart as all hell, offbeat, and sometimes brash girl I’ve always known myself to be on the inside.

Expressing myself through personal style is, first and foremost, a way for me to meld those two sides of my being. I revel in the notion of having the power to begin the get-to-know-ya conversation with anyone and everyone I meet before I even open my mouth.

Unfortunately, I think spending the last eight years living in a cultural wasteland hath done me no favors. I’ve gotten lazy and complacent with my style…and I hope this blog changes that. I want to go back to my ugly phase of discovering personal style, back to not really knowing if something works for me until I’ve spent the entire day feeling uncomfortable. Because it’s out of that clumsiness that comes true beauty.

I’m realizing more and more each day that, despite my distinct lack of inspiration in the daily life, I have the entire world at my fingertips. Inspiration is just a few clickety-clacks away.

One thought on “I Hope I Have Some Shy Babies

  1. +1: “back to not really knowing if something works for me until I’ve spent the entire day feeling uncomfortable. Because it’s out of that clumsiness that comes true beauty.”

Leave a Reply

